Technology

Technology

How to Share Realtime Location with Google Maps & Facebook Messenger on Android & iOS.

Everyone knows about the ability to send messages, and share media, but there are some interesting features that you might not know about. Sharing your location is one of them. Google Maps and Facebook recently announced a new real-time location sharing feature which will be available for both Android and iOS users. Users will be able to share their real-time location with anyone and the people they share with will be able to see the location on Android, iPhone, mobile web, and desktop. When you share the location with the live sharing feature, our friend can track you in real-time and watch your movement on the map in real-time. That interval ranges from 15 minutes to 3 days. There’s also an “until you turn it off” setting, in which case Google will go as far to email you reminders that you switched it on.


Real-Time Location Sharing with Google Map

Google has updated its Maps app, now you can share your location from Google map to your contact list. This is a real-time sharing of your location with your friends or family. That interval ranges from 15 minutes to 3 days. There’s also an “until you turn it off” setting, in which case Google will go as far to email you reminders that you switched it on. Google is quick to note that you can turn off real-time location sharing at any moment including before the timer you originally chose runs out. It’s easy to set up and we show you how to quickly share your location on Google Maps.
  • Open Google Maps
  • Tap on the three lines in the upper left corner ( Google Map Menu)
  • Tap on the Share Location
  • Tap on the Get Started
  • Select how long you want to share your location
  • Tap Select People to determine who can see your location
  • Tap Share
You can send a link via any messaging app from your phone to share the Live Location. At this point, you can choose how much time you want to share the location with your contact person. You can also send a text message with a link to your location. To do this tap the blue Messages icon, select a contact, then the app will auto generate a text message replete with your link.

Stop sharing immediately

  • Open Google Maps
  • Tap on the three lines in the upper left corner ( Google Map Menu)
  • Tap on the Share Location
  • Turn off the switch next to the person with whom you want to stop sharing

Real-Time Location Sharing with Facebook Messenger

Facebook Messenger introduced new real-time location sharing feature which will be available for Android and ios users. Users will be able to share their real-time location with anyone and the people they share with will be able to see the location on Android. Facebook Messenger's new "Live Location enables" users to share where they are with a specific user or group of friends for 60 minutes. Once Live Location is activated, you'll be able to be found on a map by those friends, and Facebook will show how long it would take to reach the friend who shared their location. It’s easy to set up and we show you how to quickly share your location on Facebook Messenger.
  • Open Facebook Messenger App on your Android or iPhone.
  • Open the conversation where you want to share your live location.
  • Tap the More icon .
  • Tap Current Location
  • Tap on Share Live Location..
Stop sharing immediately
If you’ve reached your meet-up point, or if you’ve just decided you no longer need to have your live location be known to others, you’re free to stop sharing it at any time by following these steps.
  • Open Facebook Messenger App on your Android or iPhone.
  • Open the conversation where you’re sharing your live location.
  • Scroll to the message where you sent your live location and then tap it. or just tap the More icon and then tap Location.
  • Tap Stop Sharing on the map.